RSS

Lady Luck Brings Me a Python

18 Dec

When I came to Bangkok, my biggest herping goal was to find a Reticulated Python. My friends had a python come into their room in the slum, so I knew it was possible! Getting to see the world’s longest snake “in the wild” was something I really wanted to make happen.

From the first day I moved into our place near Oh Nut, I knew I should take a look at a nearby canal:

Canal in Bangkok with pythons

I had a slim hope that the water-loving reticulated pythons might travel up the canal occasionally. So one day I roped my wife and two friends into taking a walk over there. Really, finding a python on a walk along a canal is extremely unlikely, so I shouldn’t have had any expectations. But less than two minutes after we got there my wife exclaimed, “Look Jon! There’s a really cool snake in the tree!” And sure enough…our first python.

Juvenile reticulated python (Python reticulatus) in tree in Bangkok

Juvenile reticulated python (Python reticulatus) in tree in Bangkok

I gently took him down from the tree branch to give everyone a closer look. It was only about a meter long, a real youngster. The snake was a bit ornery (and one of my friends was a bit afraid of snakes), so I did my best demonstration of how to hold a snake appropriately without the snake being hurt or me getting bit. It worked out okay.

Reticulated Python  10-25-2010 Phra Khanong

Juvenile Reticulated Python (Python reticulatus) in Bangkok, Thailand

I’ve found much larger pythons since then, and seen them in more natural settings, but I don’t know if I’ll ever top the excitement (and luck!) of finding that first one. May you have good luck in your own herp searches.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2013 in Herping adventures

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Lady Luck Brings Me a Python

  1. Laszlo

    September 22, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    You’ve found other pythons in Bangkok?? I’d love to know where.

     
    • Asian Herp Blogs

      September 24, 2014 at 12:16 pm

      I won’t give exact locations, but the best bet is to do what I did. Look around the canals – that’s what they’re traveling via.

       

Leave a Reply

